The CTI Client 3.x can be used in "basic functions" with an existing license of version 2.x. An upgrade is therefore free of charge.
The CTI Client 3.x Professional includes some new "Advanced functions", which can only be used with a current license or a license upgrade.
More information to the "Advanced Functions" and license upgrade...
Update the CTI Client from version 2.x to version 3.x
You can update an existing installation, by maintaining the existing folder for program and working directory in the setup program. This means that both the program and the working directory is updated to the new version.
The contents from the existing working directory (configuration settings, phone books, journal entries, speed dial keys, etc.) are transferred to the new program version.
During installation, a backup is created from the program and working directory. The prerequisite is that the pre-selected option "Create Backup" is not disabled.
The backup is saved as "cti_client_setup.zip" in the folder "%USERPROFILE%\AppData\Roaming\ITecSoft_de\CTI Client\Setup".
With this backup, you can install the appropriate program version, including the contained working directory at any time again (restore).
An undo of the installation is possible without data loss.
More information to: Undo upgrade to version 3.x
Install the CTI Client 3.x parallel to an existing version 2.x
You can install the CTI Client 3.x parallel to an existing version 2.x by selecting in Setup other folders for program and working directory. For example you may ectend the default name for program and working directory with the version number "...\xtelsio_CTI_Client_3.x" and "...\xtelsio_CTI_Client_Data_3.x".
It creates a new working directory with a basic configuration.
How to transfer the content from the old working directory of the Version 2.x to the new working directory of the version 3.x:
- Start the CTI Client 3.x.
- Select from the main menu [File > Working Directory > Restore...].
- Select in the open dialog for "Source" the option "Working directory folder".
- Open via "Select..." button the file "config.dat" from the old working directory of the version 2.x.
- By pressing the button "Restore the working directory and restart application", the contents are transferred to the new working directory.
You can undo the upgrade to version 3.x by uninstalling the CTI Client 3.x via the Control Panel.
If during the installation an older version of CTI Client is overwritten, so it can be restored when uninstalling if you answer the query "Restore from Backup"with "Yes".
The prerequisite is that the preselected option "Create Backup" was not disabled during installation, and therefore a backup of the old version of the program exists in the folder "%USERPROFILE%\AppData\Roaming\ITecSoft_de\CTI Client\Setup".